Delhi Worldwide Open: Karthik Venkataraman holds M. R. Lalith Babu

Sharing is caring!

Nationwide champion Arjun Erigaisi and Russia’s Pavel Ponkratov, the highest two seeds, scored necessary seventh-round victories to be among the many seven leaders within the Delhi Worldwide Open chess event right here on Saturday.

Whilst the 2 in a single day leaders M. R. Lalith Babu and Karthik Venkataraman drew their top-board conflict in 38 strikes, the triumphant brigade of Arjun, Ponkratov, D. Gukesh, Ortik Nigmatov and Harsha Bharathakoti additionally reached six factors to type the main brigade.


Arjun foiled P. Shyamnikhil’s designs of gaining any decisive benefit for the sacrificed knight in 30 strikes. Ponkratov wriggled out of hassle, because of a thirty fifth transfer blunder by Adham Fawzy, to win in 51 strikes.

Gukesh posted his fifth successive win after forcing Iran’s Arash Tahbaz right into a checkmating web in 44 strikes. Nigmatov dominated Arjun Kalyan in 60 strikes and Harsha punished a preventing Srija Seshadri for a late error in 54 strikes.

Necessary outcomes, seventh spherical (Indians until acknowledged)

  • M. R. Lalith Babu (6) drew with Karthik Venkataraman (6);
  • P. Shyamnikhil (5) misplaced to Arjun Erigaisi (6);
  • Pavel Ponkratov (Rus, 6) bt Adham Fawzy (Egy, 5);
  • Neuris Delgado Ramirez (Par, 5.5) drew with Azer Mirzoev (Aze, 5.5);
  • Syed Kian Poormosavi (Iri, 5.5) drew with S. P. Sethuraman (5.5);
  • D. Gukesh (6) bt Arash Tahbaz (Iri, 5);
  • P. Iniyan (5.5) drew with N. R. Vignesh (5.5);
  • Ortik Nigmatov (Uzb, 6) bt Arjun Kalyan (5);
  • Harsha Bharathakoti (6) bt Srija Seshadri (5);
  • Orimi Mahdi Gholami (Iri, 5) misplaced to Abhijeet Gupta (5.5).

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

15 + 9 =

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More in Chess