Ja Morant wins NBA Most Improved Participant award

Sharing is caring!

Memphis Grizzlies standout Ja Morant gained the NBA Most Improved Participant award on Monday.

Morant, 22, is the primary participant in Grizzlies franchise historical past to win the award. The NBA created it in 1985-86 to acknowledge the participant who made essentially the most drastic enchancment from the earlier season or seasons.

The third-year Morant earned 38 first-place votes and completed with 221 factors from a voting panel of sportswriters and broadcasters.

Celtics’ Marcus Smart receives NBA defensive player of the year award


San Antonio Spurs guard Dejounte Murray completed in second place with 20 first-place votes and 183 factors, and Cleveland Cavaliers guard Darius Garland grabbed third place with 11 first-place votes and 178 factors.

Morant averaged profession highs in factors and rebounds whereas incomes his first NBA All-Star choice this season. He completed with 27.4 factors per recreation, which was a rise of 8.3 factors from final season. He added 5.7 rebounds and 6.7 assists per recreation whereas taking pictures 49.3 % from the sector.

The Grizzlies gained 56 video games through the common season, matching a franchise document. They earned the No. 2 seed within the Western Convention playoffs.

Julius Randle of the New York Knicks gained the award in 2020-21. Earlier winners embody Brandon Ingram (2019-20), Pascal Siakam (2018-19), Victor Oladipo (2017-18) and Giannis Antetokounmpo (2016-17).

You may also like

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

fifteen + twelve =

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

More in Basketball